Carnival Freedom – Best Vacation Ever

Day 1: We drove around with the taxi guy for a while and while English was not his first language, he made us laugh with his gestures and jokes. His name was Hector and all he kept saying were that we were leaving him as 3 ladies to board the ship but that we would come back as 6 as we would find some eligible bachelors. Keisha didn’t get what he meant at first but that was okay as she was the only one who was in a relationship. He offered to pick us up when we returned which was both appreciated and favored by all of us. We paid him, got out of the taxi and gave the guys our luggage to be tagged. The line was very long to board but eventually we got there. It was a lot like an airport with the security checks and all and then it was onto check in. The Ship – Carnival Freedom: It was huge; just there sitting waiting for us. We crossed over into it and it was like walking into a building. No movement whatsoever. We waited at the Guest Services desk to open our on-board account and WOW there was a guy there with a body out of my world however the girls said he looked young and I would be arrested. Sigh they really know how to try to deter a girl but I shall see him around. We toured the ship and my luggage didn’t come to the room – ERROR. So we had to go searching for it – we found it tho WHEW. Habana Bar is the “shiznet” – Asian guy in there is Han from Tokyo Drift, with blonde streaks and a great voice. I just wanna hand him a car! Mercy. Dinner was okay. My chicken was green and the waiter didn’t know why but I ate it anyway! Off to think about plans for Day 2.

Day 2: I got up at 6:30 am and not sure why but I waited for the others to get up. At breakfast now – more food and I’m happy. God really does exist , you can see him all around us. There is so much beauty in this world and I am indeed blessed, we all are to be on this ship at this moment. We only live once and this is good living at best! Thank u God for your blessings, love you so much! I await my husband now – I am ready 😀 No sign of the guy who was wearing the blue shirt but we did watch a white guy apply suntan lotion.

Lesson of the day: one should also tan underneath one’s feet because even though you wear shoes it should be tanned! ALERT: old white man with a gigantic penis. O M G I was actually grossed out! He had to have surgery or something and he’s just tossing it around. I think I tasted my breakfast again and oh look he has a male partner *faints* The day flowed smoothly after that and then it was time for the Captain’s Ball where everyone dressed up. It was great and the food wasn’t bad – I had the beef. Largest piece of beef I ever saw – didn’t eat all though. The night climaxed with some severe stomach cramps, I think I ate something wrong, Keisha felt sick and Kari went to the theater.

Day 3: Day started with some severe stomach cramps, think I swill stick close to the bathroom today IN my room. Took a paracetamol and the it did nothing; stay tuned! There was french toast at breakfast so I tried to eat a lot of bread to make up for the outings I had the night before and early morning. Cozumel is our stop today and there was another Carnival in port, Carnival Liberty. There were about 8,000 people on the pier heading to the shops and tours. We went on the Cozumel Highlights and Shopping tour with a lady named Barbara. It was great; she brought a little Mexican girl with her; cutest little girl ever. She handed out the shot glasses at the tequila tour sights. She was adorable. We sampled 9 different kinds of tequila and then I asked about the ones with the worm and then she gave us some of that too. We felt warm after but not so great the night. No dinner for us tonight though. Everyone feels a little queasy so we’ll relax tonight. Alberto won’t be seeing us – he’s our personal waiter. Cozumel is a beautiful place, reminds me a little of Barbados with all it’s natural beauty and beaches but it has more spiritual beliefs and cultures. I went mad with the pictures. It is simply breathtaking and I would definitely go there again. We  saw a man standing in Diamonds International that was from Pirates of the Caribbean so we took a picture with him. At first I thought he was a statue until I saw his eyes moving. The day was pretty cool. Barbara lied, the tequila to cure insomnia actually didn’t work and I had no problem sleeping the night before 😦 Keisha also has a weird habit of talking and then sleeping the next minute however she is still livid to answer us when we talk.

Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Small miniatures of what awaits in Mexico City
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
Some exhibits on show, made by villagers from sand and other materials
View from Little Switzerland in Cozumel
View from Little Switzerland in Cozumel
Tequila
Tequila
Lunch in Mexico, delicious
Lunch in Mexico, delicious
Guy from Pirates of the Caribbean...
Guy from Pirates of the Caribbean…
Fountain outside the Tequila pitstop
Fountain outside the Tequila pitstop

Day 4: The day flew so fast that I’m updating it on Day 5 but we just laughed a lot. We went dinner for 8:15 and talked a lot to the couple from the Bahamas. Also our waiters are Mahendra and Alberto. Alberto is from Costa Rica while Mahendra is from Indonesia. They did a show at dinner and all the waiters were dancing to “Get Low” it was simply hilarious to watch but they can dance. Appetizers: Keisha had Duck, I had a Thai Chicken Soup (very peppery) and Kari had Shark with Crawfish. Dinner’s dessert for me and Keisha was Bread Pudding which isn’t like the one home. First it’s really warm; hot even and second it’s like a cake in a cup. Kari had the Tiramisu. After dinner we went to the Disco because it was Motown so they played 80’s music and we blazed the dance floor.

Day 5: It’s 6:23 and we’re on our way to Costa Rica. The others are still sleeping but they should be up in a while because we never sleep in late.  Went on the Off Road Adventure tour in Costa Rica and it wasn’t bad. We got a couple pics and had a light snack and there were also fruit and drinks.

Note to self: Don’t drink and tour. The bus became noisier after the drinks; it was awesome. Back on the ship and missing home. Called mummy and she was all quiet and, I think she misses me and it really tugged at my heart strings. It sucks being so far away and not knowing how everyone truly is. Even though I’m having fun- I’m missing them awful too. I have a headache so will hold a snooze before dinner. Not hungry at all! Dinner was good – I had the Jerked Pork which was surprisingly not as hot as that murderous jerk that we have at home. Keisha had the Sicilian chicken which looked pretty good and from where I sat was loads of meat. Kari had the Mahi Mahi and her starter was a kind of sushi that she didn’t like. Me and Keisha had the ham which was like a rich man’s version of uncooked stripped salt meat! The bread pudding for desert was splendid. On another note I kinda like staring at Alberto’s butt; tomorrow is an early morning where we dock at 7 am so off to bed.

Our tour Truck in Costa Rica
Our tour Truck in Costa Rica
Hello there :)
Hello there 🙂
Truck parked while we got to walk around
Truck parked while we got to walk around

Day 6: The alarm went off at 4 am and who were we kidding, everyone sat up and then were back down in 10 mins. I got up and bathed at 5:19 am and everyone else followed suit. We were downstairs waiting to disembark after we had breakfast of course. The ship didn’t clear yet so we had to wait a little while. We decided to take our own taxi and went to the Gatun Locks to see how the whole Panama Canal works and it was pretty cool. I took a video of the process and of course some pics. When we worked it out it was actually cheaper that way. Alberto had told us about the Free Zone which was mostly for wholesale purchases so we walked around for a bit. Then the shopping started! Wooooooohoooooo talk about savings – we got jewelry  Keisha got some really nice clothes but no white pants (inside joke). The only thing we didn’t get was shoes but we made a killing on clothes and jewelry. I shall buy NO more watches! O M G I must have one for each day now *hides face but smiles*. I would definitely come to Panama again because you can get so much for your money. We were back on the ship with plenty time to spare and I didn’t want lunch so the others went ahead. I’m saving myself for Alberto – whoops I mean for dinner so keeping my belly on half tank. We’re on our way now to Florida and should be back at 8 am Sunday morning and then it’s onto shopping. Dinner was Thanksgiving style and the boat started rocking really bad. It makes me really sleepy while Keisha feels sick. I had the turkey and Keisha had the ham.

Another view of the canal, when it was opening
Another view of the canal, when it was opening

Day 7: We’re up and watching Brad (the cruise director) – he’s funny as hell. We must take in a show. Going and bathe soon and head to breakfast. Breakfast was kool – saying that we ate it around 12. Kari just had tea which was smart because I was stuffed and didn’t want to even see lunch. However I did make room for dessert though and boy was it good 🙂 We walked around the ship for a bit and ended up in the Victoriana to watch a dance class. Lol they danced to Austin Powers spy songs but sexy. It was funny 🙂 Kari went to the gym after that and as Keisha couldn’t decide what she wanted to do I was very content to go back and sleep which I did. I think she ended up watching cartoons. After Kari came back we just lounged around and watched Pirates then got dressed for dinner which was elegant again. I wore my pink dress, Kari wore her black and Keisha bared her breasts for all *hides face* Not sure who I’ll miss more – Mahendra or Alberto. There is the variable of Alberto’s nice butt and body but Mahendra is a sweetie pie – he’s been a little down these last couple of days. He’s such a cutie; really wish I could tuck him in my bags. Oh well. Dinner was delicious though and then we took in the live show which was fantastic -it was a tribute to the Beatles. Best thing I ever did see, it reminded me a bit about Glee. We walked for a bit after that – Keisha went back to the room and eventually Kari and I spotted Mahendra and Alberto. It was off to bed then.

Day 8: Got up around 7 am and can’t believe it’s come to an end and there are still no single men in sight. I’ve made a decision though and I’m not sure whether it was the tequila or being away for so long but things are going to change by the time I get back home for sure! I’ve been single for too long.  Anyhow we did breakfast in the Posh Dining Room where we met a waiter from Barbados. His name was Charles Mayers; he lives in the Pine and has family in Foul Bay. He’s been working on ships for 7 years – it seems like a good job and as he says it has its ups and downs. After breakfast I had to go and get my necklace fixed and then we went and bought the pictures that photographers took. It’s the last day on the ship and now we’re in our room watching a movie while I update my journal. It’s time for dinner and we went to the Steak House. Now it’s a nice restaurant and all but really seafood and bush are not good appetizer options for someone like me. Ugh I guess I’ll have the bush then and why not throw some Vinaigrette dressing on it too :S  Main course I had the Lamb – thank God for sheep cos that was the most meat I had all night 😀 Bless them. Kari had the surf and turf and Keisha just had the turf lol. She had the steak which looked pretty good. Meat was one of the best inventions well next to man and it’s one and the same really 😀 Dessert: Whoopie bring on the sugar!  Keisha was shocked at the size of her cheesecake slice; it was gigantic! I had stewed apples and ice cream and Kari had the sorbet! Oh did I mention that the Steakhouse was on deck 10 and because we were lost we went to it from the wrong side. Why was it the wrong side? Cos the captain was going at warp mode speed and the wind nearly blew us away.  Was fun tho, we walked around for a bit after that and then hit the sack. Last day: 😦 Bittersweet indeed but it was fun. We docked after 6 am so we had to cancel Hector’s pickup for 9 am as we were so early. It was cheaper too! On to shop in Fort Lauderdale now! Missing Mahendra and Alberto – we all are, Keisha misses the desserts too! Smh

Leave a Reply

