My feelings about Being Mary Jane

When I first heard of the show, I was excited and who wouldn’t be?! The story line seemed like the story of many a black woman. But even as I try to express how the show makes me feel, I’m so tempted to delete everything and go to sleep but what stops me is that I know by morning I would have the sane feelings again.

For those of you who watch the show, you would be familiar with the characters that I speak about. Every woman, black, white, mixed, yellow and blue has known what it is like being a woman. The sometimes, day in and day out struggle of being misunderstood or any other adjective that is deemed fit for us. I can relate to many of the situations that Mary Jane faces and that is what upsets me more than anything.

We, women that is, have all had our hearts broken at some point and some of us have had it broken by the same man. This man for Mary Jane, is David. He is her weak spot and we all have that person who is our weak spot. Frankly, mine compelled me to write a whole book about him but that is a completely different topic for a completely different time.

David, David, David, I shake my head. Why is it that the man who causes us pain is the man we always want? What upsets me about Mary Jane?Being Mary Jane! As hilarious and ironic as it may seem, the show has the perfect name. It is all about real situations, it may not happen in our lives in the hour that it may on the show but it happens. Many of us can relate, we may have even fast forwarded through some of the issues but we all scream at her not to make the choices she does because we know far too well how it turns out.

As nerve wrecking as it may be watching the show and in some cases being able to wonder if someone used actual footage from some aspects of my life…Being Mary Jane has been and will continue to be and I will be me and continue watch it in wonder and awe as she takes me on the journey I was to scared to admit I wanted to take.

Leave a Reply

